Melt Cosmetics Lipstick Review and Swatches

As promised, I have a review of one of the cosmetics companies that I have been exploring for the past few months. In those past few months, I discovered small makeup companies that are very unique. Today, I’m present my review on Melt Cosmetics lipsticks.

You can purchase them here:Melt Cosmetics

IMG_0234

Inside the box, you get your products wrapped in a bright green paper along with stickers and a flyer.

Inside the box, you get your products wrapped in a bright green paper along with stickers and a flyer.

Shady Lady and Dark Room

Shady Lady and Dark Room

Shady Lady

Shady Lady

Dark Room

Dark Room

Dark room is the right and Shady Lady is on the left

Dark room is the right and Shady Lady is on the left

Color/Pigmentation: These lipsticks are famous for their bold colors and amazing pigmentation. After playing with them for a month, they definitely live up to the hype. These are by far the most pigmentated lipsticks I own in eclectic lipstick collection. Their color variety is mostly made out of bold or bright colors. There are wearable colors available but not much neutral or nude lipsticks available yet.

Long Lasting Effect: I was impressed that these were long lasting especially for matte lipsticks. Once these babies set in, they are hard to take off. I once wore them from 10 AM to midnight and I still had trouble taking them. Not that you should really wear makeup that long but it was impressive.

Price: These retail for $19 each plus $7 for shipping. I buy high end makeup but I would still consider this expensive. Please consider that you will most likely have to buy this lipstick online. I did not find any indication on their website that they sold their products in store. That means no swatching or trying these out before purchasing them. At least with most high end makeup, you are able to try them out in the store. They do offer returns but you also have to pay for the shipping charge to ship the item back to them.

Formulation/Quality: To be honest, I was disappointed in the quality. The only thing I liked about the formulation was that the lipstick wasn’t overly drying. It was not creamy but it did not dry out my lips. This is a big plus considering that they are matte lipsticks.

However, the first time I swatched these on my hand, I got nervous. The lipstick did not glide on my hand as I swatched it. I had to swatch it on my hand a couple of times to make a good swatch. The formulation felt like how some of my drugstore lipsticks feel. There is nothing wrong with drugstore lipsticks, some of which are even better than some high end products. However, for $19, I expected more. The lipstick was not overly drying but that does not mean it did not make my lips feel dry after a couple of hours. I fixed this by putting on chap stick underneath and was able to wear it all day. Also, I must warn you guys that these lipsticks did bleed on me, so make sure you wear lip liner. Yes, I know that these are matte lipsticks and that I should expect them to be a little drying and not creamy. However, I have purchased other matte lipsticks that are creamier and have better quality than these for around the same price.

Overall Thoughts and Is It Worth It?: They’re motto is ultra matte.bold.radioactive. It would be a lie for me to say that I did not enjoy these lipsticks because I did.Their motto states what I love in lipsticks and makeup. With that being said, if you are the type of person that loves bold, bright, pigmented lipsticks then this is your brand to try. When you wear lipsticks, you are really making an audacious statement. They have beautiful bold and unique colors for lipsticks like their dark green and blue colored lipsticks. So if you are that type of person, then I would recommend these lipsticks to you. They will be on your lips bold and bright all day.

If you are not a big fan of bold lipsticks and prefer neutral or more wearable every day lipsticks, then these lipsticks are not for you. Even if you like to wear bold lipsticks once in a while for special occasions. Maybe you’re considering purchasing the colors I have above which are actually more of the wearable colors that they have in this line. I would still say that it’s better to go with a different brand of lipsticks, maybe for cheaper since you’re not going to wear it often. Save your money and use it for a cosmetic brand that carries the type of lipstick colors you will actually wear daily.

Leave a Reply

