Sugar Pill Sparkle Baby Palette Review and Swatches

Main Pic edit

Guess what?!?! It’s finally my review on Sugar Pill’s Sparkle Baby Palette! I featured this as one of March Favorites and now I’m going to tell you all about it! I almost did not get this palette because of the reviews from I’ve seen from Youtube and other social media sites. There were a lot of mixed reviews but the colors were so gorgeous, I couldn’t pass it up.

If you would like to browse around Sugar Pill’s website and goodies, then please click here.

I did like this palette but I don’t think it’s for everyone. It’s a wonderful and special palette but it has its flaws. If you do decide to get this or you have it, I highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend you wear it with a colored base (I found that it works well with a white base). Anyways, enjoy!

open palette edit

Kitten Paradise Collage

Frostine Collage

Candy Crush Collage

Hotsy Totsy Collage

Quality: Stay with me as I attempt to explain my thoughts on the quality of these shadows. All of shadows kind of have different strengths and weaknesses. I had no problem with Hotsy Totsy whatsoever. I love the color and the pigmentation. That’s probably the only weakness, too much pigmentation. The first time I put it on, I tapped my brush lightly on the shadow, put on crease and had to blend it out for a while because the pigmentation was just in your face. Kitten Parade was fine, average quality BUT it gave a lot of fallouts during application. Even with a light hand, I still found plenty of fallouts. That doesn’t really bother me too much. I did not mind cleaning it up but it just took more time to apply my makeup. Candy Crush and Frostine had quite a few flaws. The pigmentation was acceptable but they were difficult to blend and work with. You had to have a light hand or the color will fade away while blending. I didn’t like the finish for these two either. It made them very sheer and probably the reason why they kept fading while blending.

Pigmentation: The four of them had varying pigmentation. Please keep in mind that most of these are pastel/light colors. In all of the shadows that I have tried or owned, these are one of the most pigmentated so far. Candy Crush and Frostine were fine on pigmentation, not bad, not good. My issue with them was the finish. They were very sheer and with colors like these, they can fade really easily if touched. So when using your brush to apply these, have a gentle touch. Kitten Parade had good pigmentation but the sparkles in it gave fallouts during application. Hotsy Totsy’s pigmentation was phenomenal! I kid you not. When I was applying this, I was scared that I would apply too much. The swatch you provided in my pictures was done with one swipe and no baser or primer. I don’t know what they did to Hotsy Totsy. It feels different from all the others. It kind of looks like it has the same finish but then gain not. But it gave amazing pigmentation.

Wear Time: I wore all of the eye shadows together for about 10 hours. Frostine and Candy Crush’s color faded. They were still there but not very visible. Kitten Parade held out pretty well. I noticed that it faded a little but not too much. Hotsy Totsy looked exactly like it did that morning when I put it on. The wear time on Frostine and Candy Crush did not surprise me. From the beginning, they were pretty translucent and sheer. I could already tell that they were going to fade easily. However, their placement on my eye might have affected their wear time. I put Frostine as a highlight Candy Crush under my bottom lash line.

Price: The palette retails for $34 on Sugar Pill’s website. I almost did not want to include this section but I am anyways. For me this palette was worth it even with that price tag. I feel that people are either going to like this palette or they won’t. So if you’re thinking about purchasing this palette then be sure that you are willing to deal with all its imperfections. The palette contains 3.5g total of all the shadows. The shadows are a decent size. They’re definitely bigger than MAC eyeshadows for comparison.

I recommend this palette to: Anyone that wants to play around with pastel or light bright colored shadows. I also recommend it to makeup lovers that want something playful and unique in their collection. Even if the palette is not perfect, it still has a beautiful color selection.

I DO NOT recommend this to: People who do not have time clean lots of fallouts or spend time blending out these shadows. Also to those who love more neutrals and are just looking to spice up their collection with some color for spring and summer. There are other color palettes out there that will be easier to work with and compliment a more toned down look with some color.

Overall Thoughts: I still like the palette because of its uniqueness and the look I created with it (tutorial coming soon! Stay tuned!). Despite its flaws, I enjoy what it brought to my collection and I can’t wait to incorporate into other looks.

Will I order from SugarPill again? Absolutely! Based on my research, SugarPill fanatics believed that this palette did not quite live up other SugarPill palettes and shadows. If I managed to like this palette while other fanatics did not like it quite as much then I’m sure I’m going to love the other ones.

10 thoughts on “Sugar Pill Sparkle Baby Palette Review and Swatches

  1. Oooh I am obsessed with Frostine! It looks like a Miss White colour! I know what you mean when shadows are too pigmented. That’s often why I don’t do super dark looks because I’m too scared too! I dunno if I’ll bother with this one but AWESOME review! Love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

