Nails of the Month May 2015

Hey guys! So I’ve had a crazy week, thus my lack of presence in the wordpress community but my schedule should be freeing up soon, so I hope to catch up with everyone soon. I am excited to see what you guys have been up to and have been posting. But for today, I decided to start a new monthly “series” for my blog. It’s called Nails of the Month. Pretty much, I show you guys what my nails looked like throughout the month and the nail polishes I’ve used. So here is the first Nails of the Month post for May 2015. Enjoy!

Chinchilly

First up is Chinchilly by Essie. I LOVE the color. It reminds me of mocha and coffee. But I don’t like the formulation itself. This is the first Essie nail polish I’ve ever tried and honestly, I’m not impressed. This chipped on me after 3 days. I did about 2 coats and I was impressed at the pigmentation. However, the lasting power was weak and to me, that’s pretty much a fail. I have naturally big nails which means that I have to use a lot of the product to even do 2 coats, so if I am paying $8 for a nail polish, I would want it to last. In this case, unfortunately it didn’t. By the end of the week, the nail polish has almost completely chipped away. The application was okay for me. It was streaky in the first coat and opaque but after the second coating, everything evened out.

sweet tooth

I recently got into Julie G nail polishes. I’ve been hearing about them and finally got to try them when I got one from my Ipsy bag. I was pretty much hooked on these Julie G nail polishes after trying Damsel. This one here is Sweet Tooth from her Summer Collection for 2015. I love the color! I think it’s fun, bright and a perfect summer color. It’s also a great color if you have a nice tan. I am so impressed by the quality of these. This chipped on me after 7 days! And it was only on one nail and that might be because I hit that nail on the door by accident. I took it off after a week and a half and it was still going strong but I wanted to try out other nail polishes. These were half the price of Essie polishes. They have less product but they’re super pigmented. I did 2 coats with this color but I probably could have done one thick coat for each nail and it would still look good.

color club pastel pink and lavander

These are by Color Club. This nail polish brand is also new to me. I still have them on. I will be taking them out soon. They’ve started to chip but not significantly. The first chip was after 5 days but then the next noticeable chip was 2 days after that. I still don’t know how I feel about these. They’re about the price of Essie polishes but I had difficulty applying them. The first coat was opaque which is predictable considering how light of a color these are. They weren’t streaky but I did have to do 3 coats for these. The weird part about the application was after the first coat, I had an even harder time applying them because they got a little clumpy and it got harder to evenly spread the color out. I do love the colors though! I think they did a fantastic job creating pastels that show up very vibrant.

Anyways! That’s it for what I had on my nails for May 2015. I hope you guys enjoyed this!

Thanks for reading!

Until next time!

As Always,
Nicole ❤

Leave a Reply

