Simple Micellar Cleansing Water Review

screen-shot-2015-03-17-at-1-39-12-pm
 

The new makeup removal trend has been the micellar cleansing water. I’m a little late on the hype for this but I finally gave it a try. I love the idea of using this to clear your eye makeup and also your face makeup. I thought that if I could make this work, then I don’t have to use an eye makeup remover and cleansing oil to take my makeup off. It would just be one product which is very convenient.

More companies are coming out with this type of cleanser but the Simple Micellar Cleansing Water was the most accessible for me. Bioderma (one of the most hyped ones out there) can only be accessible to me through online purchase and Garnier Micellar Water is not available in my area =( However this one was everywhere! I saw it at Target, Ulta, and pretty much every drugstore I went to. So I decided to give it a try.

Makeup Removal: For the most part, this is probably the most important aspect of this product and to me it fell short of its promises. It claims that it can also remove eye makeup and while it excelled in removing my face makeup and eye shadow, I found that it struggled to remove waterproof makeup. In the end, I still had to use my eye makeup remover to completely take my mascara and eyeliner off.

Is it hydrating? Short answer, not really. One of the claims that this product makes is that it is supposed to leave your skin hydrated after use. However, my skin just felt like it always does. My skin didn’t feel hydrated at all but it did not feel dry either which can happen sometimes when I’m using cleansing products.

For sensitive skin? Absolutely! That is probably the best thing about this product. Usually my skin would have reaction during the first week of trying new skin care products but not for this one. My skin was completely fine even on the first use. It also did not irritate my skin which some makeup removal products tend to do.

Would I repurchase and recommend? I will probably not be repurchasing this product and I would not recommend it to MOST people. To me, it’s not that different from my cleansing oil except my cleansing oil hydrates my skin a lot more and since I have dry skin, that extra hydration is necessary. HOWEVER, I DO RECOMMEND this to people that like to do the whole makeup removal strip down where you remove your eye makeup with an eye makeup remover and a cleansing oil for your face. There are some people that struggle with cleansing oils because it does not work well with their skin. This can work as a cleansing oil if your skin cannot handle cleansing oils. It’s very gentle on the skin and will still remove face makeup.

I still have hope for micellar water cleansers. I just need to find the right one for me. If you have tried any micellar water cleansers then please comment down below and recommend them!

Thanks for stopping by!

Until next time!

As always,
Nicole ❤

9 thoughts on “Simple Micellar Cleansing Water Review

  1. I’ve been thinking about trying this for a while now but if it doesn’t remove makeup all that well then maybe not. I use Sephora’s Cleansing Water and I love it so perhaps I’ll just stick with that! I have very sensitive skin and it hasn’t caused any irritation or breakouts and I find it takes my makeup off really well. Might be worth a try for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok, thank you for your review, because I just started using this and I don’t think it’s very effective in removing makeup either! I think this is even causing my skin to get clogged and breaking out a little due to the residue left behind. I also found this a bit soapy? It leaves a film on my skin. 😦 People rave about it but it’s not good for me.
    I actually use both a cleansing oil and a micellar water to clean my face. Cleansing oil to break everything down – then rinse off with water. Then I follow up with a micellar water. I just don’t find the Simple micellar water to be effective compared to other micallar waters I’ve used (my favourite remains Yves Rocher, Caudalie and a Canadian brand called Reversa – Bioderma is ok too).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ikr! I didn’t feel clogged when I used this but maybe it’s because I used light face makeup when I used this. But it definitely can’t remove anything waterproof. Which is disappointing because I heard that many micellar waters can remove them easily sometimes even better than eye makeup removers.
      I’ll definitely check out your suggestions. Do you have review of any of them?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

